✕
Get involved
Back to all
WHN Science Communications

Ebola in Kenya: Nine Cases and Unlisted Exposures

  • Keywords:
  • Ebola
  • Mitigation Strategies
  • Publication date:

    Submission date:

    PlumX
    Cite

    October 20, 2026

    Kenya has confirmed nine cases of Ebola caused by the Bundibugyo virus, including one death, following the arrival of an infected traveler from the Democratic Republic of Congo on October 3. According to current reports, the traveler has infected eight people: four relatives and four hospital workers, three of whom treated him and one who cleaned his utensils and linens. Kenyan reports state that all eight developed symptoms while in quarantine. 

    That last fact is being presented as evidence of containment. It is evidence of something narrower: contact tracing worked for the people it had listed. It remains possible that people who have not been identified are also infected. The published account of the patient’s movements from the aircraft to his death contains no place where three of the four infected relatives could have been exposed, and the travelers he encountered in the airport he walked through are not on the contact list. Those gaps are the highest risk for community transmission.

    The patient’s journey

    The patient was a 40-year-old Kenyan citizen who had lived in the Democratic Republic of Congo for about seven years. The DRC’s current outbreak of Bundibugyo virus began in May in Ituri Province and has since passed 9,000 cases and 4,000 deaths. He fell ill about a month before his death and was treated at several health facilities in the DRC. None of those visits resulted in isolation, and he set out for Kenya while ill. [1, 2, 6]

    He traveled by road to Kampala, passing through Beni in North Kivu on October 2. Uganda had its own Bundibugyo outbreak earlier this year. There were twenty cases beginning with a traveler from the DRC who died in Kampala. The outbreak was declared over on August 27. The road journey, his time in Kampala, and his passage through Entebbe airport are not described in any report. The WHO has said it is unclear when during the journey he became symptomatic, but he had been ill for weeks and was severely ill on landing. People in Uganda who shared those spaces with him are outside Kenya’s contact tracing, and no Ugandan tracing effort has been reported. [2, 11, 12] On October 20, Nigeria confirmed a case in a woman who arrived in Abuja from Uganda, with symptom onset October 7. [22]

    On Saturday, October 3, he boarded Jambojet flight 8523 from Entebbe to Nairobi with 23 other passengers and four crew. The flight landed at Jomo Kenyatta International Airport at 1:10 p.m. He deplaned with the other passengers, whether by jet bridge or by bus, and walked the arrivals corridor to Port Health screening. Screening at JKIA is an automatic thermal scanner. He passed it. The Director-General of Health has since suggested he may have taken medication that lowered his temperature. According to the standard process, he then stood in the immigration queue and presented his documents at the desk. [1, 3, 8, 9, 10]

    Whether he collected checked luggage, and whether he used a restroom on the aircraft or in the terminal, has not been reported. What can be said is that a patient within two days of dying of Ebola spent the better part of an hour in a sequence of shared spaces: a jet bridge or bus, an arrivals corridor, a screening station, an immigration queue, possibly a baggage hall and a restroom. He shared them with people from his own flight and from other flights arriving at the same time. The passengers and crew of his flight were listed as contacts from the first day, because the airline had a manifest. The Ministry has said that airport staff who interacted with him and were on duty that day were also listed. [13] The other travelers in those spaces were not: the passengers from other flights who stood in the same screening and immigration queues, used the same baggage hall and restrooms, and were in the arrivals hall when he came through. There is no roster from which to find them. Exposure can occur through contact with body fluids or surfaces they touched, and airborne transmission should be assumed as a significant risk. A critically ill man moving through a terminal sweats, touches railings and counters, handles documents, and may need a toilet. Whether anyone was exposed is unknown. That it may very well have happened is not in doubt, and the people to whom it would have happened are not on any list.

    In the arrivals hall he was met by a relative and a friend, who drove him in a private car to Nairobi Hospital. The Director-General has since said publicly that transporting a patient this way is unsafe because of the potential for exposure. [9, 10]

    At the hospital’s Accident and Emergency department he presented with fever, chills, severe fatigue, muscle pain, painful swallowing, sore throat, and bruising and bleeding at the sites of injections he had received in the DRC. [1]

    The bleeding at injection sites is the significant finding. It is a visible sign of the late-stage clotting failure that marks advanced Ebola. Ebola becomes transmissible at symptom onset, and infectiousness rises with viral load through the course of the illness. A patient who has reached the stage of clotting failure has been infectious for days and is near peak infectiousness. Whatever the exact onset, he was infectious throughout October 3: on the road, at Entebbe, on the aircraft, in the screening queue, at immigration, in the arrivals hall, and in the car. He had a fever at the hospital that afternoon. Whether he took medication to reduce fever during screening is not certain. However, he was clearly dangerously infectious throughout the journey.

    The Ministry and Nairobi Hospital say he was isolated in a separate room on arrival and later moved to the hospital’s East Wing isolation facility; the Ministry’s account is that a doctor noticed bleeding at a needle site, suspected hemorrhagic fever, and had a laboratory result within about six hours. The Star reported, from hospital staff present when he was brought in, that he waited about 18 hours in the emergency unit before Ebola was suspected, that staff could not establish what was wrong with him, and that he did not disclose his travel from the DRC until he began visibly bleeding. As the cases in hospital workers and relatives that have recently been reported show, what happened is not consistent with effective immediate isolation. [9, 11, 13, 14]

    He reached the hospital around 2 p.m. on October 3. If his residence was indeed eighteen hours in the emergency unit, Ebola was not suspected until about 8 a.m. on October 4. The three healthcare workers now infected treated him on October 3 and 4. A sample collected on October 5 tested positive at two Kenyan laboratories. He died at about 11:30 p.m. that night and was buried the next morning under safe-burial protocol. Kenya announced the case on October 6. [1, 5, 12]

    What followed

    Relatives were placed in quarantine on October 6. The three healthcare workers who had treated him on October 3–4 were quarantined on October 9—five to six days after exposure and three days after confirmation. That delay was a process failure as isolation should have started immediately on diagnosis of the patient. Ebola is transmitted only after symptom onset, and all three are reported to have become symptomatic in quarantine, so they would not have transmitted to others before October 9. [5, 7]

    A 39-year-old male relative developed symptoms in quarantine and tested positive on October 14. A 65-year-old female relative, described as a primary contact of both the first and second cases, tested positive on October 16. On October, 17 the Ministry confirmed four more: the three healthcare workers, two men aged 29 and 35 and a woman aged 32, and another male relative, all symptomatic in quarantine. [4, 5, 7] 

    On October 18, the Ministry confirmed an eighth case, a 49-year-old patient attendant at Nairobi Hospital who had cleaned the first patient’s utensils and linens, and on October 19 a ninth, a 24-year-old male relative. Both developed symptoms in quarantine. [18, 19, 20, 21]

    The standard rate of infections of others is generally understood to be 2 people for each infected person. [15] However, this is an average, and always dependent on the actual contact rates which can be much higher. A late-stage patient who spends most of a day unrecognized in an emergency unit, attended by staff and family, is in a high-contact setting. In this case we already have eight cases from the initial patient, and others may yet be identified.

    Where the relatives were exposed

    The Ministry has not said where exposure of the relatives occurred. The Standard noted on October 16 that investigators still need to establish the 65-year-old’s exposure history. The constraints are tight. One relative was in the car. Four relatives are infected. At most one of them was the driver. The 65-year-old cannot have been infected by the 39-year-old, who became symptomatic on October 13 in quarantine; she was exposed to the first patient directly. The same holds for the two relatives confirmed on October 17 and 19: each of the earlier cases was isolated at symptom onset, so none of them could have infected the others. So at least three relatives were exposed somewhere other than the car, within about two and a half days. The Ministry’s October 7 report indicates that he received visits from family members and friends before his condition was confirmed. [4, 13, 16]

    The 18-hour emergency-department stay is where those visits happened. An unrecognized patient in an emergency unit overnight is a setting in which family would likely be in attendance, hold the patient, and handle his belongings. The alternatives, more than two people meeting him at the airport, or contact with the body or his effects between his death and the quarantine order the next morning are not excluded, but are not reported. Each pathway has people attached to it who are not relatives: other patients and visitors in the emergency unit, others in the arrivals hall, anyone who handled the car or luggage. The relatives’ infections are not simply a family cluster. They are evidence of an exposure setting that has not been described, and whoever else was in that setting should be included in an exposed and unidentified group.

    What the contact list measures

    As of October 20, the Ministry reports 135 contacts listed, 134 traced and quarantined, a rate it describes as exceeding an 85 percent global benchmark for interrupting transmission. Efforts to find the remaining one continue. No report identifies who that person is. [5, 17, 20]

    The list grew from 28 on October 6 to 57 the next day, 108 by October 14, and 135 by October 20. It comprises relatives and friends, healthcare workers, the 27 people on the flight, airport staff who interacted with him and were on duty on October 3, and the contacts of the secondary cases before their quarantine. The Ministry has not said how many airport staff were listed or from which services. The travelers who shared the terminal with him are not on the list, and could not be without reconstructing who was in which queue at 1:30 on a Saturday afternoon. No report suggests that was attempted. [5, 13, 17, 20]

    A tracing rate is a statement about the list. It can be 100 percent while the list omits everyone whose exposure was never recognized. The 85 percent benchmark the Ministry cites is a benchmark for reaching known contacts; it does not measure whether the known contacts are the complete set of contacts. The one untraced is the least of it. That is a person the Ministry knows exists and is likely to find. The people it has not listed are at least as important.

    The window to October 24

    Ebola’s incubation period runs to 21 days. For anyone exposed at JKIA on October 3, that window closes around October 24. For anyone exposed in the emergency unit on October 3–4, a day later. The Ministry has said that contacts quarantined on October 6 who remain symptom-free will begin returning home from October 25. [20, 21] 

    The eight confirmed cases infected in Kenya all came from the quarantined set, which is what a quarantine is for. The test of the next week is the unquarantined set: whether anyone from the airport, the emergency unit, or the family’s wider circle presents with fever at a clinic that has no reason to suspect Ebola. The absence of such a case so far is encouraging, but does not guarantee there won’t be a case among unlisted contacts.

    The exposures that cannot be listed are the travelers who shared the airport with him on October 3; there is no roster they are on, and the window for them closes around October 24. In the emergency unit, the hospital listed the staff who interacted with him as well as family members. [13] Whether other patients and visitors who were in the unit during the hours before he was isolated were also identified has not been reported.

    The patient died on the night of October 5. In the two weeks since, eight more people have been confirmed infected from his journey: a 39-year-old relative on October 14; a 65-year-old relative on October 16; and on October 17 a third relative and three healthcare workers; on October 18 a 49-year-old patient attendant who cleaned his utensils and linens; and on October 19 a 24-year-old relative. The healthcare workers include two men, 29 and 35, and a woman, 32, who treated him. That is nine confirmed cases in Kenya as of today, from one traveler, in a country that had never recorded one. All eight secondary cases came from the list of identified contacts. The count from everyone who was not on it is zero at this time, and will hopefully stay zero until October 24 and thereafter, as cases may be identified afterward.

    The hospital’s account is that he did not disclose he had come from the DRC, and that its staff wore the required protective equipment. Yet four of their workers are infected, three who treated him and one who cleaned up after him. The precautions that were taken, and those that would have been taken if they had known he was from the DRC, were not specified. What should be recognized is that a hospital cannot know where a patient has been, and a protection that depends on the patient saying so immediately is not a protection. The question for Nairobi Hospital and its protocols is not what it knew but what it does for an ill adult who walks in during a regional Ebola outbreak and says nothing.

    References

    1. Kenya Ministry of Health, October 6, 2026. Confirmation of the imported case, travel itinerary, flight, arrival time, symptoms, laboratory testing. Kenya Confirms First Imported Case of Bundibugyo Ebola Virus Disease
    2. World Health Organization, October 8, 2026. Travel from the DRC through Uganda to Kenya; uncertainty about symptom onset. WHO Disease Outbreak News
    3. Kenya News Agency, October 6, 2026. Airport screening, immigration, transport to hospital. Kenya Confirms First Imported Ebola Case
    4. WHO Regional Office for Africa, October 16, 2026. Second and third cases. WHO Supports Kenya’s Ebola Response
    5. Reuters, October 17, 2026. Seven cases; healthcare worker quarantine dates; contact tracing. Kenya Confirms Four New Ebola Cases
    6. Al Jazeera, October 17, 2026. DRC outbreak totals; first in-country transmission. Kenya confirms four more Ebola cases
    7. Kenya News Agency, October 17, 2026. Third case; quarantine from October 6. Kenya Confirms Third Ebola Case
    8. Capital FM, October 6, 2026. Flight JM8523; 23 passengers and four crew. Jambojet, Health Officials Seek Flight JM8523 Passengers
    9. The Kenya Times, October 6, 2026. Vehicle; A&E separate room; East Wing isolation facility. How Ebola Patient Evaded Detection
    10. Citizen Digital, October 7, 2026. Director-General Amoth: thermal scanner; possible masking medication; private transport unsafe. Ebola patient may have masked symptoms
    11. The Star, October 7, 2026. Hospital sources: 18 hours in the emergency unit before suspicion; Uganda outbreak declared over August 27. Ebola patient’s journey to Nairobi exposes airport screening gaps
    12. Nation, October 7, 2026. WHO Regional Director: road through Beni on October 2; burial October 6. Kenya was preparing for Ebola for months
    13. Eastleigh Voice, October 7, 2026. Duale: doctor noticed bleeding at needle site; six-hour laboratory turnaround; 57 contacts. Kenya identifies 57 contacts
    14. Nation, October 7, 2026. Nairobi Hospital statement: admitted to isolation facility October 3. Nairobi Hospital fully operational
    15. Muzembo BA, et al., 2024. The basic reproduction number (R₀) of Ebola virus disease: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Travel Medicine and Infectious Disease, 57, 102685. DOI:  ⁠10.1016/j.tmaid.2023.102685
    16. The Standard, October 16, 2026. Exposure history of third case not yet established. Kenya records third case as quarantine comes under renewed scrutiny
    17. Reuters via Arab News, October 17, 2026. 128 of 130 traced; 85 percent benchmark. Kenya confirms 4 new Ebola cases
    18. Reuters, October 18, 2026. Eighth case: 49-year-old patient attendant who cleaned utensils and linens; symptoms October 17; 38 tested. Kenya confirms eighth Ebola case as regional outbreak spreads
    19. Associated Press, October 18, 2026. Eighth case tested positive in quarantine as a listed contact of the first patient; 128 of 130 contacts in quarantine. Kenya’s Ebola cases hit 8, with no community transmission yet
    20. Citizen Digital, October 20, 2026. Ninth case: 24-year-old male relative, positive October 19; 134 of 135 contacts traced; first contacts to leave quarantine from October 25; all patients improving. Kenya confirms ninth Ebola case, says all patients improving
    21. The Star, October 20, 2026. Ninth case; contacts quarantined October 6 due to complete monitoring. Ebola cases hit nine in Kenya as first contacts prepare to leave quarantine
    22. Associated Press, October 20, 2026. Nigeria’s first case: a woman who arrived in Abuja from Uganda; symptom onset October 7; admitted to a private hospital October 11; confirmed October 20; 44 contacts identified. Nigeria confirms Ebola case in Abuja as woman who arrived from Uganda tests positive
    Join a Scientific Team, Together We Have the Power to Make a Difference
    Get involved